Biographie

Thomas Marent

Der Schweizer Wildtierfotograf Thomas Marent, geboren 1966 in Baden, ist seit über 30 Jahren auf den Spuren der faszinierendsten Tiere auf der ganzen Welt unterwegs. Schon während seiner Kindheit entwickelte er eine starke Faszination für die Natur und Tierwelt.

Seit er 1990 im Alter von 23 Jarhen zum ersten Mal den tropischen Regenwald in Australien besuchte, gilt sein besonderes Interesse diesem unermesslich artenreichen Lebensraum. –"Es war Regenzeit und der Wald war voller Leben. Es war heiß, feucht, laut und völlig berauschend, aber am aufregendsten von allem war die Tierwelt. Ich war sofort begeistert und habe ich mich entschlossen, Regenwälder auf der ganzen Welt zu erforschen ". Seine Faszination zog ihn in die Regenwälder Asiens, Lateinamerikas, Afrikas, Australiens und Neuseelands. 

Sein anfänglicher Traum war es, ein Buch über sein Werk zu veröffentlichen. 1996, im Alter von 30 Jahren, begann Marent seine Fotos in zahlreichen Zeitschriften, Büchern und Kalendern zu veröffentlichen. Sein erstes Buch "Regenwald" wurde im September 2006 veröffentlicht und wurde ein Erfolg: Mittlerweile ist es bereits in 15 Sprachen übersetzt worden. Im Anschluss daran, im Jahr 2007 veröffentlichte er "Butterfly", im Jahr 2008 "Frog" und 2009 "Leben in der Wildnis". Sein jüngstes Buch "Affen der Welt - Welt der Affen", ist allen Primaten weltweit gewidmet.

Während seiner Reisen in die entlegensten Gebiete unserer Erde dokumentiert Thomas Marent die Artenvielfalt der Primaten. Er zeigt unsere nächsten Verwandten in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum, der jedoch zunehmend schwindet und den Fortbestand etlicher Arten bedroht.

Neben seiner Arbeit als Naturfotograf, erstellt Marent Monitorings von Tagfaltern, Libellen und Heuschrecken und leitet seit 2013 Naturfotoreisen in unterschiedliche Regenwaldgebiete.

Vietnam 2012

Vietnam 2012

Guyana 2011

Guyana 2011

China 2009

China 2009

Japan 2008

Japan 2008

Madagascar 2008

Madagascar 2008

Thailand 2006

Thailand 2006

New Zealand 2004

New Zealand 2004

Kenya 2003

Kenya 2003

Costa Rica 2002

Costa Rica 2002

Borneo 2001

Borneo 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sumatra 2000

Sumatra 2000

Colombia 2000

Colombia 2000

Colombia 1999

Colombia 1999

Peru 1999

Peru 1999

Mount Kinabalu 1997

Mount Kinabalu 1997

Borneo 1997

Borneo 1997

Switzerland 1996

Switzerland 1996

Bolivia 1994

Bolivia 1994

Venezuela 1994

Venezuela 1994

Thailand 1993

Thailand 1993

Costa Rica 1992

Costa Rica 1992

Bolivia 1992

Bolivia 1992

Australia 1999

Australia 1999

Greece 1988

Greece 1988

France 1987

France 1987

Switzerland 1986

Switzerland 1986

Language

Biography

Thomas Marent was born in 1966 in Baden, Switzerland. During his childhood he developed a strong fascination for nature and wildlife. When he bought his first camera at the age of 16, he became as passionate about photography.

At the age of 23, Marent first set foot into a rainforest in Australia: “It was rainy season and the forest was bursting with life. It was hot, humid, noisy and completely exhilarating, but most exciting of all was the wildlife. I was immediately hooked. There and then, I made up my mind to explore rainforests throughout the world”. And so he did. Since that first expedition, he has explored rainforests all over the world.

His initial dream was to publish a book on his work. Around 1996, at the age of 30, Marent started to publish his photographs in numerous magazines, books and calendars. A formerly intensive hobby gradually developed into a thriving career as a wildlife photographer. His first book “Rainforest” was published in September 2006 and became a success: By now it has already been translated into 15 languages. Following that, in 2007 he published “Butterfly", in 2008 “Frog" and in 2009 “Life in the Wild". His latest book is dedicated to the rainforest primates all over the world.

Beside his work as a photographer he also does monitoring work in Switzerland with butterflies, drangonflies and grasshoppers. Since 2013, he guides wildlife photography tours to different tropical destinations.

So far, Marent's dream to do a book on rainforests has come true. But a more important wish of him is a future for his beloved subject. “To me, rainforests are the greatest treasures on earth, and I think it is tragic that we are losing them just as we are beginning to appreciate their true value. We not only have the power to destroy these beautiful and important habitats, we also have the power and the responsibility to protect and preserve them”.

Vietnam 2012

Vietnam 2012

Guyana 2011

Guyana 2011

China 2009

China 2009

Japan 2008

Japan 2008

Madagascar 2008

Madagascar 2008

Thailand 2006

Thailand 2006

New Zealand 2004

New Zealand 2004

Kenya 2003

Kenya 2003

Costa Rica 2002

Costa Rica 2002

Borneo 2001

Borneo 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sulawesi 2001

Sumatra 2000

Sumatra 2000

Colombia 2000

Colombia 2000

Colombia 1999

Colombia 1999

Peru 1999

Peru 1999

Mount Kinabalu 1997

Mount Kinabalu 1997

Borneo 1997

Borneo 1997

Switzerland 1996

Switzerland 1996

Bolivia 1994

Bolivia 1994

Venezuela 1994

Venezuela 1994

Thailand 1993

Thailand 1993

Costa Rica 1992

Costa Rica 1992

Bolivia 1992

Bolivia 1992

Australia 1999

Australia 1999

Greece 1988

Greece 1988

France 1987

France 1987

Switzerland 1986

Switzerland 1986

Language